Welcome Guest! Pagan Journeys is an online community primarily geared toward Pagan paths, but all paths and spiritualities are welcomed here. Pagan Journeys is a place of community, learning, and growth for all of its members. You must either login or register to view all boards and features of this forum.
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Candles  (Read 9432 times)

FairyQueen

• Journeyman
  • Spiritual Path: Unitarian Universalist Pagan Witch
Candles
« on: November 21, 2011, 10:33:32 PM »

I'm sure this question could go in a better forum but my roots are showing and right now I can't figure out where. And what the hey, I'm a beginner!

So, a different colored candle is used in many different ways and means many different things. I remember learning that in my first dive into Paganism when I was a teen. I was just wondering, though, as a cost saving measure, if I could use a white votive or tea candle and put them in different colored tea/votive candle holders (like these: http://www.amazon.com/Red-Glass-Votive-Candle-Holders/dp/B004GWL7DW in each different color) and have the effects be the same?

Mongo

• Dungeon Master of Irish Diplomacy
  • Global Moderator
  • Spiritual Path: Wiccan
    • Mongo's Musings
Re: Candles
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 11:08:26 PM »

The tools of the casting are an aid to focus. By training yourself that a green candle does "X" and a red candle does "Y", you are training your focus to be on task "X" when you light a green candle and on task "Y" when you light a red one.

You could just as easily do "X" and "Y" without the candles, but it is a focus for you.

So yes, you can dedicate some cheap candle holders to specific tasks and then buy them once and as you say use the cheap, plain white tea candles. You would get much the same effect.