Welcome Guest! Pagan Journeys is an online community primarily geared toward Pagan paths, but all paths and spiritualities are welcomed here. Pagan Journeys is a place of community, learning, and growth for all of its members. You must either login or register to view all boards and features of this forum.
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Patron discovery meditation has turned up something ... unexpected ...  (Read 9639 times)

DisreputableMog

• Spiritual Path: Long and mysterious (Eclectic witch)
    • Asleep at the Altar; Stumbling Towards Divinity

To be specific a chess piece. A rook.

I've never learned or played chess. I'm not good at strategy in any facet of my life. And in all my research, I can't find a single deity, not even in Eastern and Asian pantheons, that have a strong relation to games.

I looked up the rook online and the best that I can figure out, it's symbolism would be something in relation to Persian chariots, which were heavily armored and usually manned by at least one archer. But it's equally likely to be representative of crenelated turret castles, from when the game was brought to the West (because of the pieces' appearance).

The rook can move any number of spots on the board in any direction as long as the pathway is clear, if I understand completely what I read. It is also a relatively valuable piece, directly under a queen.

My only other clue is fire. Literally. I ate a giant, two-palm-sized flame in one mouthful.

I am completely stumped. Any thoughts?
Where the climate is raw and the gun makes the law, neither wind nor the rain care for bravery. A rebel I came, and I'll die just the same, on a cold winter's night you will find me - Roibeárd Gearóid Ó Seachnasaigh

Check out my blog for Klutzy-Witch Anecdotes- http://asleepatthealtar.blogspot.com/

Tirya

• Zen Master of Cupcakes
  • Administrator